System Center Operations Manager 2016 Step by Step– Part I

As you know SCOM 2016 is published last year. Like many others I also have a task to upgrade my SCOM environment to new version. That’s why I get idea to document my path and maybe help other on all problems that can occur. Probably there is some people that are installing this product  for the first time. I will not write to much about theory of how SCOM works but focus mainly on all steps required to have functional and working SCOM environment. Especially I will take some time to explain configuration of some different management packs both Microsoft, vendor and community published.

So lets start. For all of you newbies, I will recommend first some reading you can do besides this blog. There is not so much books about SCOM 2016 but there is no much change when you compare it to 2012 R2 version. You can use 2012 R2 books and articles if you have it already. This is the list of latest books, new and old links you can use:

There is more, but lets stop here. It is more then enough to start with. So what is the first step. PLANNING!

To have functional SCOM environment you need to carefully plan your workloads. How to size your environment? You can do it by experience from your previous deployments, but if you are new then you use System Center 2012 Operations Manager Sizing Helper Tool Excel sheet. It is made for SCOM 2012 version, but it is usable for SCOM 2016. Only thing I saw is wrong in excel sheet is number of Linux/Unix computers you can manage with one management server. If I am not wrong number is doubled in SCOM 2016 so take that in account.

image

I will not walk you on Excel sheet. You will need to go for yourself to discover your needs. Please be extra careful with designing database server. It is crucial in SCOM design. If you have some good SQL admin ask his advise. If you don’t know how to calculate IOPS requirements you can test them on you server. For that best thing to use lately (besides IOmeter) is using DiskSpeed Powershell script together with  Diskspd Utility: A Robust Storage Testing Tool (superseding SQLIO). Be careful to put script into right folder with diskspd.exe file to get it running. When you succeed you get something like this.

image

I need to run to other task that are waiting for me, but we will see each other very soon. Go thru this subjects and next time I will show you my imagined future configuration on almost purely experience basis.

See you

Leave a Reply

