System Center Operations Manager 2016 Step by Step– Part II

I promised last time I will give my example of SCOM environment (experience based)  so you can compare it with your requirements, to see if that may work for you. Right know lets start with number of current SCOM agents on my SCOM server. I recently deleted some because we changed Exchange environment and some other things. To get exact number of agent installed around we will use PowerShell and simply do next

image

As you can see I have 35 agents installed. If you are unfamiliar with the term, it is every computer that have SCOM agent installed (MMA – Microsoft Monitoring Agent).  It is not some representative number. Still I think it is more common then people think. But still there is much more hidden workload that is not accounted in this number.

You will probably want to monitor some network devices too. Or maybe even storage or some other SNMP enabled devices. Lets count them with PowerShell. As you can see there is some IP addresses there. They are some optical switches, tape library, storage etc.

image

That is not all but lets stop there. Where is it running now? You will be surprised!  All of this is running on just one physical HP DL380 G5 server fully populated with disks and 32 GB of RAM with SCOM environment installed including databases (I mean DWH&ACS database too). But please don’t go there. This server was installed in time of SCOM 2007 R2 version when that was enough for that workload. I needed to tweak a lot of things to get it running on current SCOM 2012 R2 version. It survived couple of SCOM upgrades in between . Console was slower but it worked. I am now more clever and I will do fresh start. So what configuration can easily chew this environment. I found some servers in our warehouse with next configuration.

image

It doesn’t seems some round numbers but people from supply have some strange configurations in their heads Smile

What is important here. First of all, please separate SQL workload from management server. Two reasons.

  1. SQL workload can be very hard on performance and will stand in the way of normal SCOM functioning. It will take RAM, processors, everything it needs to work.
  2. SQL Server license is free for System Center use only. So please don’t put it on some big SQL server where you have a ton of other databases. In my case I will put also SCCM database here because it is small enough. If you need SQL workload for some other System Center product consider more RAM memory and enough space to accommodate database sizes

I don’t have anything against virtual servers. Management server can be virtualized in this configuration without to much fuss. SQL virtualization? Maybe, but that is you decision to make. So what we need for next time.

We will start with SQL installation. Because I want to run SCCM database here too, I need to consider what SQL version are compatible for both System Center products. As I understood somewhere Configuration Manager is going on its own path besides System Center product. I still didn’t chew on that one, but it was always separate product for me. From times of SMS 2003. 

image

If you look at the SQL compatibility for ConfigMgr 2016 (I need to stop using SCCM) you will see that SQL 2016 SP1 is supported. I will try to install SP1 version and see if that goes. I didn’t found any documentation is SP1 supported for SCOM but I will look for it.

Until next time

Leave a Reply

